Profanatica Bring God to His Knees on “The First Fall”

Posted on July 25, 2023

More information about Crux Simplex

No one loves to watch God suffer quite like Profanatica. Since the late ’80s, Paul Ledney and his corpse-painted band of miscreants have amassed a long and infamous career as one of America’s truly definitive black metal bands. They’ve hurled profanties and even their own feces at our Lord and Savior, not to mention other, more nefarious bodily fluids.

Still, ‘Crux Simplex’ is blasphemous even by their high standards. Each song on Profanatica’s new album bastardizes a station of the cross. The lead single ushered in this fresh plague of stain and sacrilege by mocking Jesus on the very day of his crucifixion.

“The First Fall” takes things yet another step too far. Cymbals clank like rusty shackles, while Ledney spews his rotten death growl over a riff that’s dark and nasty as a bruise from a bullwhip. There’s no sacred cow that Profanatica won’t slaughter.

Here’s what Profanatica have to say about their new single: “Jesus is becoming weak and almost dead. The bloodletting continues as the soldiers march him straight to his fate. The rolling on the bell of the ride cymbal symbolizes the whips opening up his flesh.”

Hear the official audio of “The First Fall” over on our YouTube channel.

‘Crux Simplex’ is out on September 22, 2023 via Season of Mist. Pre-save the album HERE. Pre-order it HERE.

  1. Condemned to Unholy Death
  2. Take Up the Cross
  3. The First Fall
  4. Meeting of a Whore
  5. Compelled by Romans
  6. Wipe the Fucking Face of Jesus
  7. The Second Fall
  8. Cunts of Jerusalem
  9. The Third Fall
  10. Division of Robes
View Profanatica