The Black Flux

Artist: Virus

Catalog Number: SOM188

Release Date: November 10th, 2008

  1. Stalkers of the Drift
  2. As Virulent as You
  3. Archives
  4. The Black Flux
  5. Intermission: The Ocean Highway
  6. Inward Bound
  7. Lost Peacocks
  8. Shame Eclipse
  9. Strange Calm

Rising out of the ashes of avant-garde black metal innovators VED BUENS ENDE in the year 2000, founding member, songwriter, vocalist and drummer Carl-Michael "Czral" Eide (AURA NOIR, DØDHEIMSGARD / DHG…) conjured avant-garde auras of dark rock, experimental black metal and even jazz to create a maelstrom of creativity and ambition, giving birth to the "Carheart" debut album in 2003. Like a constantly shifting torrent, VIRUS anno 2008 is as unpredictable as it is addictive. With former VED BUENS ENDE bassist Plenum and drummer Einz teaming up again with Czral, "The Black Flux" is a statement of intent, to say the least. The songwriting is more focused, the music more twisted and hypnotic, and the vocal delivery more poignant than ever. Czral's vocals are a story of their own, picking up where he left off on VED BUENS ENDE's "Written in Waters" (1995), taking it to an all new level and finally becoming that vital fourth element of VIRUS. Not to mention the top-notch sound, produced in Amper Tone Studios (ENSLAVED, AURA NOIR, etc.) under the helm of Bård Ingebrigtsen.

View Virus