ARCHSPIRE – The Lucid Collective – April 1, 2014

Posted on April 1, 2014

More information about The Lucid Collective

Technical death metal force ARCHSPIRE (Tobi Morelli – Guitar; Spencer Prewett – Drums; Dean Lamb – Guitar; Jaron Evil – Bass & Vocals; Oli Peters – Vocals) have released the third track off their forthcoming new album, ‘The Lucid Collective’. The track, titled “Scream Feeding” is streaming now at Brave Words and Bloody Knuckles.

‘The Lucid Collective’ will be released on April 25 (April 29 in North America) on CD and various LP formats. Pre-orders are available on Season of Mist’s e-shop.

Regarding the new track, ARCHSPIRE released the following statement: “This is the second track off our newest album, and right away has a noticeably different feel than the previous two songs we’ve released. This track has a bit of groove to it, and that makes it hugely enjoyable to play live, even though it’s still hovering around the 280-300 bpm range. Stay Tech!”

‘The Lucid Collective’ was recorded at Rain City Recorders, in Vancouver, B.C. and was engineered, mixed, and mastered by Stuart McKillop (BAPTISTS, BISON B.C.) with additional engineering by Curtis Buckoll and Mark Mckitrick. The band documented their stay at the studio, and the footage can be found here.

The album artwork and track list for ‘The Lucid Collective’ can be found below:

  1. Lucid Collective Somnambulation
  2. Scream Feeding
  3. The Plague Of AM
  4. Fathom Infinite Depth
  5. Join Us Beyond
  6. Seven Crowns And The Oblivion Chain
  7. Kairos Chamber
  8. Spontaneous Generation

ARCHSPIRE recently announced an April string of dates in Western Canada. The mini-tour, which starts on April 10 in Edmonton, will see the band play alongside KATAKLYSM and ABORTED. A full list of confirmed tour dates can be found below.

4/10 Edmonton, AB @ Pawn Shop
4/11 Calgary, AB @ Republik
4/12 Kamloops, BC @ Columbo Lodge
4/13 Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theater

“If you are asking, “Is there something new to do in Death Metal?” ARCHSPIRE is the answer”-

“This is a truly eye-popping convulsion of tech-death, with schizophrenic rhythms, astounding technical riffing and drum-work, and tiny threads of reappearing melody that stitch the songs together into cohesive wholes. And I’m not sure I’ve ever heard a death-metal vocalist bark out the lyrics faster than ARCHSPIRE’s . . . . This is most definitely a band to keep your eyes on; you will hear more about them.” – No Clean Singing

“ARCHSPIRE have released a gem. It’s definitely technical death, and it adroitly blends elements of various tech death bands together. The rhythm guitar work varies from choppy and percussive to fluid and melodic. The blasting and double bass work are absurdly fast, but remain fluent and rhythmic rather than wooden or jittery. The hard to soft musical transitions are as natural as I’ve ever heard in this genre.” – Invisible Oranges

“The pick-me-up comes in the form of ARCHSPIRE, a gang of happy-looking Canadians who might have been widely unknown to most present before this performance, but surely no longer. With a technical proficiency bordering on OMFG levels, they still achieve what lacks in a lot of other bands like this: the feat of actually writing songs. What’s more, they noticeably enjoy what they do, so smiles are abundant even if face-peeling technical death metal about alien monoliths and planets being devoured is going on.” – Terrorizer Magazine

View Archspire